Because driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol puts others at serious risk, this offense carries significant criminal penalties in Tennessee. The state has an implied consent law, which means that drivers on the state’s roads must consent to a breath test when stopped by law enforcement or risk additional penalties. 

Read on to learn more about the consequences of a Tennessee drunk driving conviction 

First DUI offense 

If you receive a DUI conviction in the state and have no prior convictions, you could receive: 

  • Between 48 hours and 11 months and jail, with a minimum of seven days for blood alcohol content over 0.20% 
  • One-year license revocation, with ignition interlock device at your own expense upon reinstatement (about $1,000 for one year) 
  • Court-ordered drug and alcohol treatment 
  • Fines of $350 to $1,500, with administrative fees totaling up to $4,900 
  • Restitution payments for personal loss or physical injury 

Second DUI offense 

A second DUI conviction in Tennessee within five years of the first carries these penalties: 

  • 45 days to 11 months in jail 
  • Two-year license revocation, with ignition interlock device at your own expense upon reinstatement (about $1,000 for one year) 
  • Court-ordered drug and alcohol treatment 
  • Fines of $600 to $3,500, with administrative fees totaling up to $4,900 
  • Restitution payments for personal loss or physical injury 
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture 

Subsequent DUI offenses 

For a third DUI conviction, you will be subject to: 

  • 120 days to 11 months in jail 
  • Six-year license revocation, with ignition interlock device at your own expense upon reinstatement (about $1,000 for one year) 
  • Court-ordered drug and alcohol treatment 
  • Fines of $1,100 to $10,000 
  • Restitution payments for personal loss or physical injury 
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture 

A fourth DUI conviction constitutes a felony offense and carries a minimum one-year prison sentence. You will also receive fines of up to $15,000 and an eight-year license revocation.