For people who live in other states where laws are more relaxed about the use of marijuana, it is good to research the law in states you plan on visiting. While marijuana may be legal in the state you live in, it may be a felony charge in another state. We understand how marijuana laws apply in Tennessee and have helped many clients with their cases.
Here is a brief summary of the marijuana laws in Tennessee.
Marijuana is not legal in Tennessee, in any circumstance
While some states have relaxed their laws around marijuana, Tennessee still adheres to a “no pot for anyone” stance. Even medical marijuana is not permissible in Tennessee at this time.
According to Tennessee Code 39, possession or exchange of anything less than 0.5 oz. of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor, subject to less than one year in jail and a fine of less than $2,500. Anything over 0.5 oz. and less than 10 lbs. of marijuana is a Class E felony, which is punishable by up to two years in jail and a $5,000 fine. Additional amounts result in additional jail time and fines.
Keep abreast of current marijuana laws
State marijuana laws change frequently, so it is a good idea to always check before you travel to a state where marijuana may not be legal. When it comes to your criminal record, it is important to keep it as clean as possible. Your record affects potential employment, rentals, and many other factors in your life. More information about this topic is available on our webpage.