If you get into a car accident, you need to know how your insurance helps pay for damages. According to Tennessee law, you must carry at least $25,000 for injuries and $15,000 for property damage.
However, what if the other driver is at fault for the accident? Does your insurance have to cover the costs of your medical bills or other expenses?
Does liability matter?
Tennessee is a fault car accident state. This means if the other driver caused the accident, their insurance must cover the damages, as far as their policy allows. In many cases, though, the other driver does not have insurance. According to the Insurance Information Institute, Tennessee has the third most uninsured drivers in the country. Since this is the case, you must carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage or risk paying for expenses yourself.
After an accident, you have a few options to pursue damages. It might be easiest to file a claim with your own insurance company. They can then seek damages for you with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. You can take a more direct approach and file a claim directly with the other driver’s insurance company. However, you should consult with a lawyer before doing so. Finally, if the damages are more substantial than the at-fault driver can cover with their policy, you can file a personal injury lawsuit.
You should not file a claim against another driver alone. Consult with an experienced legal professional before attempting any action against another driver. Speak with your insurance company if you worry about the extent of your coverage.